Direct Booting in COS + Java Setup (Solved)

The Commodore OS Vision Linux distribution and Linux software discussion and help.
Thommy2k24
Posts: 19
pinterest Kuchnie na Wymiar Warszawa
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2024 3:31 pm
Contact:

Direct Booting in COS + Java Setup (Solved)

Post by Thommy2k24 »

Once again, I know I might be a little annoying. lol
I installed Commodore OS on an SSD today and was wondering how I can get rid of the menu at the beginning so that it loads straight into the Commodore OS? listening in background Amiga and C64 remixes... Fits well... with the Commodore OS I use in the moment.
And then another question comes to mind. How do I get the Windows hard drives permanently integrated into the Commodore OS without having to enter the password every time???

Greetings from Germany

Thomas

User avatar
LeoNigro
Site Admin
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2023 1:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct Booting in Commodore OS??

Post by LeoNigro »

You want to skip the initial GRUB menu by the sound of things.
I just wrote a bunch of commands to do it and then realised we already have a front-end for it. :o
System --> Administration --> Grub Customizer
then go to the General Settings tab where you will see the boot delay. Maybe you can even turn the boot menu off altogether.
Lots of cool grub options in there.
I've only just discovered you can even set a Grub boot jingle. I might investigate that.
See what you've done. :twisted:

What exactly do you mean about "Windows hard drives permanently integrated into the Commodore OS"?
Windows hard drives are NTFS, which linux only halfheartedly supports.

There would be a command to mount a drive or drives automatically, but you probably have to specify what they are.
Something along the lines of:

Code: Select all

sudo mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/media/drive_location_here
I wouldn't know what or where your drive is supposed to mount to.

Once you work that command out (probably by how you mounted it via the gui), you could fire that command off on startup automatically
if you need to via:
System --> Preferences --> Personal --> Startup Applications
(you probably want to let the OS settle down for a few seconds so give it maybe 10 seconds delay).
Image Commodore OS creator. Site Admin. Owns: C64, C128D(Sidekick64), A500, A1000(piStorm), C64x(i7)

Thommy2k24
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2024 3:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct Booting in Commodore OS?? (Solved)

Post by Thommy2k24 »

Thanks for the answers again!
Mounting foreign hard drives is easier with the disk manager that is available in System Tools. just found out...
grub also worked, it now boots directly into Commodore OS.
And now I'm desperate about Java, I want to install assembly64 but I can't do it with Java.
i get this error message?!?!?

JAVA_HOME was not set, please download java17 or later and set JAVA_HOME

I downloaded Java, no installer included?

I have it in the download directory just like the assembly64.sh file.

no idea how to set java home??

And which java? x64 rpm? or which one?


and if anyone answers, thank you in advance!!!

Greetings from Germany.
Thomas

User avatar
LeoNigro
Site Admin
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2023 1:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct Booting in Commodore OS?? (Solved)

Post by LeoNigro »

Edit: Wasn't relevant.
Image Commodore OS creator. Site Admin. Owns: C64, C128D(Sidekick64), A500, A1000(piStorm), C64x(i7)

Thommy2k24
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2024 3:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct Booting in Commodore OS?? (Solved)

Post by Thommy2k24 »

Thanx for the really fast answer... he downloaded some stuff and installed something... but https://assembly64.hackerswithstyle.se/ ... nload.html
shell script writes the same...
java home not set...???

maybe you can try it... seems iam to dumb for this... lol... I also somehow managed to install jdownloader and doublecommander via the shell... lol

User avatar
LeoNigro
Site Admin
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2023 1:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct Booting in Commodore OS?? (Solved)

Post by LeoNigro »

In a terminal type:

Code: Select all

sudo apt install openjdk-17-jdk
then:

Code: Select all

geany ~/.bashrc
Then paste the following in the file, save and exit.

Code: Select all

export JAVA_HOME=/usr/lib/jvm/java-17-openjdk-amd64
export PATH=$PATH:$JAVA_HOME/bin
Check it stuck after reboot.

Code: Select all

echo $JAVA_HOME
This should sort you out.
Let us know how you go with the Assembly stuff. I've never used/had it.
Perhaps in the Emulation section.
Image Commodore OS creator. Site Admin. Owns: C64, C128D(Sidekick64), A500, A1000(piStorm), C64x(i7)

Thommy2k24
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2024 3:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct Booting in Commodore OS?? (Solved)

Post by Thommy2k24 »

thanx again...

Now he shows that...??

JFX_HOME was not set, please download JAVAFX 17.0.1 SDK from https://gluonhq.com/products/javafx/ and set JXF_HOME pointing to it

very strange....lol but he seems to find java better now...

you don't know assembly64? If, like me, you have 5 C64s and have also had an Ultimate 64 Elite for some time, you need this... so you get pretty much everything that was ever available for the C64 and everything new from the C64 scene. I have an extra hard drive for it.

User avatar
LeoNigro
Site Admin
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2023 1:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct Booting in COS + Java Setup (Solved)

Post by LeoNigro »

Have you checked that the Windows version doesn't run through Wine?

Edit: And the answer to that is. No it doesn't. :(
Image Commodore OS creator. Site Admin. Owns: C64, C128D(Sidekick64), A500, A1000(piStorm), C64x(i7)

User avatar
LeoNigro
Site Admin
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2023 1:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct Booting in COS + Java Setup (Solved)

Post by LeoNigro »

Download and extract that SDK then add the following to your bashrc file as you did above but setting the correct path:

Code: Select all

export JFX_HOME=path/to/javafx-sdk-21.0.1
export PATH_TO_FX=path/to/javafx-sdk-21.0.1/lib
It's late so I'm not going to try this right now.
Image Commodore OS creator. Site Admin. Owns: C64, C128D(Sidekick64), A500, A1000(piStorm), C64x(i7)

Thommy2k24
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2024 3:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct Booting in COS + Java Setup (Solved)

Post by Thommy2k24 »

I downloaded Java JFX

Pointed with

export JFX_HOME=/home/Commodore/Downloads/javafx/
export PATH=$PATH:$JFX_HOME/lib/

and now i get this....

if i type sh assembly64.sh start
i get this message....

Starting Assembly64
Using JAVA_HOME: /usr/lib/jvm/java-17-openjdk-amd64

but nothing shows up...??? hmhmhmhm....

It's slowly driving me a little crazy... I've gotten this far and it still doesn't work... lol

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: LeoNigro and 2 guests